Butterflies from the Windermere Basin

scotto

Administrator
Staff member
Feb 15, 2004
The Beach Strip
The park at Winderemere Basin next to Eastport Dr. seems to have become a new destination for migrating butterflies. Hopefully this continues into the future.

Sharla1

Oct 15, 2009
Very nice Scotto. I have been seeing a monarch flying around my place lately. Earlier this month when the nieghbours had his lilacs in full bloom the red admirals were around a lot. The red admirals seem to love the lilacs. Such pretty insects they all are. :)

scotto

Administrator
Staff member
Feb 15, 2004
The Beach Strip
Very nice Scotto. I have been seeing a monarch flying around my place lately. Earlier this month when the nieghbours had his lilacs in full bloom the red admirals were around a lot. The red admirals seem to love the lilacs. Such pretty insects they all are. :)
I'm no expert but I think the big migration of the monarch is in the fall, hopefully they stop at the Windermere basin.

Sharla1

Oct 15, 2009
Yea usually late August into September and even Oct. on the way to Mexico. I heard Point Pelee has a huge migration of all kind of butterflies there but I've never been there before.

scotto

Administrator
Staff member
Feb 15, 2004
The Beach Strip
Yea usually late August into September and even Oct. on the way to Mexico. I heard Point Pelee has a huge migration of all kind of butterflies there but I've never been there before.
I don't have much spare time to be driving around looking for butterflies, so hopefully the migration has a visit to the new Windermere Basin Park.

Sharla1

Oct 15, 2009
That's no short drive to Point Pelee. Many come from all over for the migrations of the butterflies and birds to the Point. The Ontario Birders Assoc books the rooms one year in advance for the spring bird migration. Anyhow, I heard it is a very nice area. I haven't seen it myself yet.