Route 1001 Hamilton Spectator

Midnight

Jun 15, 2005
Westbank BC
It has sure been pleasent wandering this site since stumbling across it a few days ago... Today I was looking through the pictures of houses and came across the house where I grew up.. 14 Renfrew ave,, Actually when we first moved in 1955 I was 2 and it was called Cottage Grove however in the years that followed the name was change to Renfrew,,

As I strolled through these picture I began to remember the daily walks along route 1001 of the spec. A route I would walk at least once a day, 6 days a week...from late 56 when my brother Len began to teach me the paper business along with my brother Mike until the summer of 1967 when I graduated from Bell Cairn and went to Delta.. The same year I stopped delivery papers and started bagging groceries at Pollacks... (Kenilworth and Barton)

However as I strolled thru these pictures, I remembered the nice days, the stormy days, summer and winter and all that was in between...The lawns we cut, the driveways we shovelled... The life of a paper boy.. somany years ago..yet for awhile today..the years disappeared..

Today I am in a wheelchair but for a while today, I was back on a bike with two paper back criss crossing my chest and one on my baxck with strap on my forehead...

Route 1001...consisted of anywhere between 100 and 125 customer depending on the time of year... It is hard to believe that it has been 40 years since those summers of swimming and wintres of climbing forbidden icebanks...

The 7:00 am trains and off course the Thursday evening at the amusement park...

Bless you for this site.. I know I have lots to look at and hope to share some more

thank you for being here to find

always a beach bum at heart

Patrick

scotto

Administrator
Staff member
Feb 15, 2004
The Beach Strip
Hi Patrick; :wavey: